top of page

50 Years of Hip Hop


Hip Hop is 50 Years Old and showing no signs of aging or getting older. I was raised on “wisdom & beats, a musical feat that is much colder


than any other genre at evolution and domination. It is Griot’s great-grandchild. Please make the relation.


Hip Hop coddled the boom of Mp3’s, platinum CD’s and ultimately Digital. It represents where you’ve been, your fam and your friends, geography, knowledge, and where with all.


Come on ya‘ll – this is amazing. Hip Hop has raised many and in constant rotation continues raising.


I like the new ladies of Rap that are breaking out. Please tell me that you know what GloRilla’s vibe is about?


I like it a lot, especially her voice. But if I had to choose a Hip Hop Queen, REMY MA is my choice.



I still dig MC LYTE, KRS-One, Mos Def, and Talib Kweli I still jam the tunes of Slick Rick, Kwame, Big Daddy Kane, and Biz Markie.


I can’t forget YO! MTV RAPS and all of the personalities that Fab5Freddy introduced into our reality.


Remember The SUGAR HILL Gang’s joints and Jj Fad’s hit, too? I was cut for LL Cool J, Tupac, Uncle Luke and The 2 LiveCrew.


Just to name a few… because there are so many contributors to this groove. Hip Hop won’t stop and will continue to move


the dialogue of the Black Community along. Eminem and Jack Harlow are Hip Hop strong.


There is no color barrier in this fam of the word-savvy. Shades of melanin welcome hair with mousse, braids, and nappy.


Jay Z, Kendrick Lamar, Travis Scott, and The Weekend, Scarface, UGK, T.I., Hustle Gang and friends…


There are so many to honor. For the sake of longevity we cheer. Happy Birthday Hip Hop, we’re glad you didn’t stop. You are the youngest 50 Years.




bottom of page