top of page

Hey You - Don't Sleep on ROKU


Recent office renovations presented us with an entertainment issue or the lack thereof in the lobby. CHIVE TV is a popular attention holder when visiting pop marketing offices, it's affordable but requires a long-term Misc. Budget. I actually think Streaming Television is a great investment, but which one will yield me the most bang for my buck. I set out to research the usual top competitors until I realized ROKU isn't getting the respect that a FREE broadcasting digital network station deserves. In some cases, it's as free as ABC, NBC, and CBS if you have a smart TV or a very affordable accessory stick. Either way, ROKU is in the market of mini-series production, and their 7-minutes series' yield hard-hitting laughs and thoughts. Their library of content spans genres and presents a mad attractive situation to creative concept writers like me.


When was the last time that you ROKU'd? I screened quite a bit today and was imbued by:

  • DIE HART

I binged the entire Season 1. It was funny, engaging, and left me wanting to spend more time with the cast and subject matter. I'm bated and ready to laugh at Kevin Hart should there be a Season 2. Season 2 Starred Kevin Hart and John Travolta in 7 episodes of spit-fire gas:


and

  • THE MOST DANGEROUS GAME

IMDB describes this series as "Desperate to take care of his pregnant wife before a terminal illness can take his life, Dodge Maynard accepts an offer to participate in a deadly game where he soon discovers that he's not the hunter - but the prey." IMDb is right. I am binging this production as I type:

Commendably, each series is composed of 10-15 episodes. It's amazingly refreshing and more comparable to expresso over a cup of jo.'


ROKU's M.O. is what I call an "innovative storyteller." If you are a fan of The Twilight Zone, Black Mirrors, Tales From The Darkside, etc., ROKU's new series' are nothing like those of the past and mostly because of their micro run time. They are poised to win hand-over-fist as a new and effective direct storytelling vehicle, especially in a world of remote work ethics, where many viewers have very little time to invest in entertainment.


It's good to know that new viewing options are still being born. The major streaming networks are not as safe as many once thought as ROKU and many other streaming apps offer accessible and oftentimes free access.


Looking for a ROKU all-encompassing smart TV? Click here and experience entertainment differently and within your time schedule.







bottom of page